Skip to content

Text size:

PA needed for artistic, housebound woman in the North Laine

Hi there, I have a lovely PA that's having to leave, so I am looking for one or two lovely person-centred humans that can help! I am an artist who is housebound, and in a nutshell I need people who can cover 3 hour shifts during different mornings - after 10am. It is mostly for domestic tasks and admin, rather than companionship. It’s a great job with varied tasks such as different cleaning tasks, gardening, DIY, houseplants and cooking and is right in the middle of Brighton.

If you want to know more - just read on!!

I look for professional, person-centred Personal Assistants who are kind and capable to join my team. I’m a housebound artist with severe ME and balance problems living in the North Laine, Brighton. I love art, gardening/plants, watching road cycling, family history, clothes, documentaries and books.

I need practical support with domestic chores as well as admin. The domestic chores are things like cleaning/hoovering, laundry, rubbish to bins, post, watering plants (I have a rooftop garden). Possibly some meal prep. Admin includes tasks based on the laptop, telephone and paperwork. This isn’t a companionship role, but being an artistic and practical soul I may need you to help with sewing, sorting or occasional decorating. Personal care is non-intimate and I don’t need lifting, but sometimes plants, parcels and furniture may do!

You must maintain confidentiality, be non-judgmental, have an awareness of disability issues including positive language concerning mental health. This is definitely a person-centred PA role, rather than carer role. An ability to separate personal-life from work-life, and not to bring personal problems into the workplace. In essence, seeing me as an autonomous person capable of making my own decisions!

I flourish in a friendly, trustworthy environment with person-centred PAs who can respect professional boundaries and follow instructions really well. My PAs are resourceful, caring, reliable, with good time keeping skills and a great sense of humour! They are willing to help me solve immediate or longer term problems I may have.

My symptoms include pain and severe fatigue so you need to be good at listening and taking cues on how to complete tasks, I have cognition problems where the PA needs to show patience and good interpersonal skills, and immune problems so you need to be in good health and be very aware of covid/flu protocols.

My essential requirements are:
Person-centred PA (though experience is not completely essential)
Able to ensure a flu/covid-safe environment, wear PPE as needed, good hygiene standards
Non-smoker required.
DBS, proof of right to work/passport, minimum two references. I am in receipt of Direct Payments so it’s not a cash-in-hand position.
My needs change daily so being resourceful and able to cope with change is vital!

My weekday rate of pay is:
Self-employed: £12.50/hr weekdays. Must have up to date Personal Care Assistant Insurance from start of working, proof of ability to work in the UK and confirmation of Unique Taxpayer Reference (UTR).
Employed: £10.80/hr plus holidays on top. Contract.

If this sounds of interest, please contact me for further details. Thank you!

Genders which may apply for this job – Female

Hours per week – 3 hr morning shifts starting 10am

Hourly rate – Employee: £10.80/hr plus holiday payment on top. Self-employed: £12.50/hr

Area – Brighton Central

Driving licence required – No

Employer has pets – No

Employer is smoker – No

Noticeboard Advice

For your privacy and protection when applying for a job online:

  • Never provide credit card or bank account information, or perform any sort of monetary transaction.
  • By applying for a job using this site you are agreeing to comply with and be subject to the terms and conditions for use of this site.