Skip to content

Text size:

Contrast:

PA wanted for young woman with EDS (hypermobility) and anxiety disorder, Kemp town

Main Duties:
This list is intended to indicate the range of tasks that I may need assistance with; it is not necessarily complete

General overview

I am a 30 year old woman with a fairly rare condition called Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome (EDS). This affects the connective tissue in my joints and organs and mostly causes me continuous pain and extreme fatigue. For more information see the link below. I also experience chronic anxiety and bouts of depression.

I try to live a full a life as possible, I have a young dog and enjoy being outside in nature with him when my condition allows. I try to maintain an active social life, and keeping good social relationships is very important to me. I enjoy growing vegetables in my patio and have a passion for food. I work part time for a Charity, mostly from home, and I am setting up a charity to help people with my condition manage their exercise needs. I also create papercuts and am a keen crafter.

There are days when as a consequence of pain and disturbed sleep patterns and/or anxiety, I tend to be lethargic and unwilling to extend myself to keep up with everyday living; I need my PA to take the initiative to enable and encourage me to achieve my short and medium term goals, but only when they have been discussed and agreed in advance. Examples could include facilitating me to cook and bake, encouraging me to eat and meal plan, encourage me to make and stick to plans; guide me to keep organised and to complete jobs I’ve started (both work and personal), helping me to sell my art, prompting me to do my physio exercises and personal admin.

Personal duties:
These tasks are shared between this role and my other PA.
assistance as required with hair washing and drying
assistance with preparing breakfast/lunch and bulk cooking for the freezer
accompany me to local shops and supermarkets to assist with shopping, lifting goods, packing and unpacking car, placing purchases in fridge/cupboards
on occasion to go shopping on my behalf when I am unable to do so
to collect prescriptions from the local pharmacy; take/collect deliveries from the local post office
as needed, accompany/drive me to doctor/hospital/other medical appointments, as I can get very anxious about being late, parking or missing appointments emotional support is also a large part of this task. My car is available for this purpose.
encouraging me to do my physio exercises/pilates

Domestic duties:
These tasks are shared between this role and my other PA.
Tidying and cleaning my flat, including regular emptying of bins and distribution of recycling
loading/unloading washing machine; loading/unloading tumble dryer, folding bedlinen; put clean laundry away; very limited amounts of ironing
loading/unloading dishwasher
liaising with local handyman if required to carry out small repairs/maintenance of my flat
cleaning the patio and small amounts of gardening

Social Duties:
These tasks are shared between this role and my other PA.
Monthly assist me to assess and deal with the correspondence and other paperwork that I accumulate that otherwise I might delay handling as it makes me anxious
Weekly, assist me to go to hydrotherapy
Occasionally accompany me when I need to take my dog to the veterinary surgery

These duties may vary from day to day. I am particularly looking for someone with good administrative skills as these tasks can sometimes overwhelm me. I would like my new PA to have a good knowledge of anxiety disorders and how they can manifest. I need to be met with compassion and a willingness to learn and develop a well functioning dynamic. There is the potential for more hours assisting me with my job, getting to and from the office and supporting me during work hours.

Any other reasonable duties that may be necessary.

Hours of work:
There are 8 hours minimum available in total, in 4 hour shifts on Monday and Thursday, this can be late morning or in the afternoon. There is some flexibility in the days and hours subject to mutual agreement. PA’s should be able to commit to at least 6 months to a year of working this role. As developing a good dynamic takes time and having to search independently for care is very time and energy consuming.
It is essential, as I find it difficult and become anxious when situations appear to get out of my control, that applicants have made domestic arrangements to enable them to carry out the work in the schedule once it is agreed and that holidays and any variations in hours are mutually agreed well in advance with as much notice as possible.

Qualifications and Experience:
Essential:
Proactive and self-starter; clean driving licence; demonstrable understanding of chronic pain conditions in general and the effect of depression and anxiety on everyday living; patient and calm; very important that the post holder loves dogs, especially small excitable ones as I have a young lively pug/french bulldog crossbreed.
Preferred:
computer literate, good communicator, open and flexible mind, experience of this type of work; experience of people with chronic illness and its physical and mental impact; understanding of neurodiversity, varied life experience; it is likely that a successful applicant will have a similar outlook on life as me and a sense of the mindset of a young woman who is disabled.

Important note
All candidates should be satisfied that they can reach Kemp Town (Marine Square area) by foot, car, cycle etc or by public transport in time for work. There is limited street parking and such as is available but can be disproportionately expensive.

Any job offer will be subject to receipt of satisfactory references and DBS checking.

Genders which may apply for this job – Any

Hours per week – 8 hours a week, split into two days. Flexible.

Hourly rate – £8.70-£9.30

Area – Central Brighton, East Brighton

Driving licence required – Yes

Employer has pets – Yes

Employer is smoker – Yes

Noticeboard Advice

For your privacy and protection when applying for a job online:

  • Never provide credit card or bank account information, or perform any sort of monetary transaction.
  • By applying for a job using this site you are agreeing to comply with and be subject to the terms and conditions for use of this site.