Skip to content

Text size:

Contrast:

Personal Care Assistant for physically disabled woman in Worthing

About me: I am a young physically disabled woman arranging independent living for myself in my own home. Your role will be to help me live independently in my home and community. This is an exciting phase in my life and the person(s) appointed will be essential in helping me to succeed. I employ a team of personal assistants to help me live independently. I am an enthusiastic, fun, positive person with a wide range of interests, including: reading, craft work such as: make accessories, knitting and sewing (and I enjoy learning new craft skills), writing, family history research, music, singing, films, art, baking, fashion, shopping, photography and I enjoy studying. Although my physical needs are very specific and in some ways limiting, I am a very independent-minded person. About you: It is your job to assist me in personal, domestic and social activities, both at home and in the community. Through personal assistance I will be enabled to lead an individual and independent lifestyle in my own home. You must be reliable and able to commit to regular hours, but also be aware that flexibility outside of your guaranteed hours would be an advantage. Continuity of care is important to me. A professional attitude is essential, you must respect my privacy and understand the need for confidentiality in all areas of work and respect me and my home. You should be able to follow my instructions, respect my wishes and independence as an adult, work on your own initiative and be willing to learn. You will be accountable to me. You should be able to appreciate my disability and the effect this can have on acceptance of help. It is essential that you understand the importance of preserving my dignity and independence. You will need to be lively and cheerful but also to understand that sometimes I may ask to be left alone, as I need my own space and there will be times when I am unwell or tired when I will need you to work in silence. There will also be times when I am with guests or out with friends and family where I will need privacy. You should be in good health and a non-smoker is preferred, but not essential. Your Tasks: Some tasks will be daily, others weekly. My needs vary greatly as to whether I am having a better day or when I am unwell (this happens often, and always after trips out of any length). As my needs vary, it is important that you are flexible about what the work involves and agree to undertake any other reasonable task that I request which is appropriate to the position. Your tasks will include: Personal Care: My personal care requirements are very specific and detailed. Full training will be given and a reasonably fit person should not find it too arduous once they have learnt the routine. It is essential that you are comfortable with this aspect of the job. To fulfil the role, you need to be sensitive and willing to learn. I wear an extensive plastic body brace at all times and am unable to come out of it at any time. I cannot bend or sit down. This means I have to be washed within my body brace, lying down on my bed and there is no aspect of my washing that I can do myself other than my face, hands and teeth cleaning. Your personal care tasks will include: - Daily bed bath. - Daily dressing and undressing. - Daily hair wash, dried and styled. - Assistance with toileting and all other reasonable personal needs. - Daily bed time routine. - Assistance to get up out of bed to use my female urinal, when I am unwell. - Regular re-filling of hot water bottles and adjusting or changing clothes and bedding. Checking that I am comfortable within my brace and making any necessary adjustments. Health Care: - You will need to learn my medicine timetable and administer medications and record it when this is necessary. This is not difficult and full training will be given. - Foot care and cutting of toenails - Monitoring pressure sores caused by the brace. - Reporting on the condition of my brace. - First aid in case of falls or accidents. - Coping with sickness and any accidents. Domestic Tasks: - Preparing and cooking food and drinks and clearing up. - Shopping for food and other items. - Changing bed linen. - Laundry and ironing on a daily basis. - Household cleaning. Social activities: - Helping me to access the local community. - If you have a driving licence, (this is preferred, but not essential), driving me to and from appointments, shops, visits to friends and family etc - Accompanying me and assisting me as appropriate on trips out. The person(s) appointed will make a real difference to my life. I am looking forward to meeting, interviewing and appointing the successful applicant. Rate of Pay: The hourly rate is: £9.50 per hour. Overnight care, is paid at a flat rate of £60.00, per night (11pm-7am). The rate of pay reflects the level of responsibility and sensitivity attached to this role. You will receive the opportunity to gain the nationally recognised Care Certificate, regular support and the possibility of undertaking further accredited training such as QCF Level 2/3 in Health and Social Care. Hours available: Tuesday and Thursday: 7.45am-2pm (i.e. 12.5 hours a week, this would suit one candidate ideally. A degree of flexibility is required for this role in order to cover annual leave and sickness, staff shortages and employers’ special occasions/holidays. The above post is subject to an Enhanced CRB Check (Criminal Records Bureau).

Genders which may apply for this job – Any

Hours per week – 8 hours a week: Sun and Mon: 6pm-10pm

Hourly rate – £9.50 PH

Driving licence required – No

Employer has pets – No

Employer is smoker – No

Noticeboard Advice

For your privacy and protection when applying for a job online:

  • Never provide credit card or bank account information, or perform any sort of monetary transaction.
  • By applying for a job using this site you are agreeing to comply with and be subject to the terms and conditions for use of this site.