Skip to content

Text size:


After school PA and school holiday hours 8 hours pw

We are looking for a PA to work with our autistic daughter of 14 years old (mentally about 7-8 years having learning disability and speech and language disability) and her 10 year old autistic/ADHD brother.
You will ideally be a driver with your own car to collect our son from school, and look to assist in supporting both children with daily tasks, some tutoring for school work (mainly prompting/encouraging work is completed), and in organising after school activities (e.g. cubs/scouts, karate classes) and play dates (where requested by our son).
Having an interest in music, computer games (ideally) and in assisting both through their teenage years, you will enjoy building their resilience and confidence as they nurture their own identities and transition between primary school, secondary and college. Our daughter wants to be a popstar and regularly looks for outfits based on current loved characters to role play this.
Duties include personal care (prompting showering/hairwashing as both children can do this themselves), cooking (preparing dinners and lunches for school that are advised/loved recipes), cleaning bedrooms, hanging out and sorting washing (certain clothes are worn for school only) and helping out this busy working family. It's a mix of basic personal care and daily tasks - mother's help like that seen in a regular family. One parent works from home and is on hand at all times to support and provide training.
We have 2 pets, a cocker spaniel and cat, both very friendly and playful. We regularly go on walks with our dog in the school holidays and love our camping trips.
This will suit someone who wishes to become a part of our family. Who enjoys engaging with children with activities in the home and outdoors (cooking, music, art, walking, computer games, fair rides, swimming, camping and martial arts) and loves for children to make the best of life and build social relationships with their peers. We regularly hold play dates, outings, plus will take you on our family holiday.
Hours are 3-7pm in term time. Hours maybe more in school holidays and arranged in advance as we enjoy day trips to Chessington, London, Drusillas, and organise events for each child to meet with peers.
Babysitting/evening work can be requested to give parents respite.
Pay is £10.50-£16ph according to experience of working with pathological demand avoidant autism. Full employment benefits apply with paid holiday.
As personal care is involved only females are accepted and we appreciate your understanding for this. A current enhanced DBS will be required to work with us. Please state in your application if you already have this in place otherwise we can arrange for this to be done.
If you have a can do attitude, love adventure, enjoy role play, and generally like to laugh and enjoy life, you will fit right in.
Please email or text me
If you apply directly from this website I don’t get notified so there could be a delay in my response as a result.
From a current carer: Working as a PA for this family is enjoyable and highly rewarding. You will be welcomed into the dynamic and loving household and be treated as part of the family. Whilst there are some regular tasks, the variety of tasks is broad and no two shifts are the same. There are practical/ household tasks, as well as working more directly with each child to support them as/when needed to engage with and enjoy life and to develop/nuture their potential. You will continually learn about and from the children and whilst their needs can be high at times, they are not constant. They are both lovely natured children, who care and show empathy to others and with whom you can build strong and reciprocal relationships. The most rewarding aspect of the job is these relationships and supporting the children in their learning and social development and seeing them thrive.

Genders which may apply for this job – Female

Hours per week – 4 hour shift x2 per week

Hourly rate – £10.50-£16

Area – Brighton Central

Driving licence required – Yes

Employer has pets – Yes

Employer is smoker – No

Required care experience – Mental health, Personal care, Working with children

Noticeboard Advice

For your privacy and protection when applying for a job online:

  • Never provide credit card or bank account information, or perform any sort of monetary transaction.
  • By applying for a job using this site you are agreeing to comply with and be subject to the terms and conditions for use of this site.