Skip to content

Text size:

Contrast:

Tuesday and Wednesday Mornings – artistic, housebound lady in the North Laine

Hi there, towards the end of the year I will need a new PA to cover a morning shift on all Tuesday and Wednesday mornings from 10am-1pm (or thereabouts). I'm looking for a professional, person-centred Personal Assistant who is kind, capable and covid-aware, to join my team and who will help me live my life well. I have a wonderful PA who is leaving, so for the right person this can be a long term position (over a year). This is not a stop-gap job.

I’m a housebound artist with severe ME and balance problems living in the North Laine, Brighton. I love art, gardening/plants, watching road cycling, family history and research, clothes, films, documentaries and books. Loads of things!

I need practical support with domestic chores and admin. The domestic chores are things like cleaning/hoovering, laundry, rubbish to bins, post, watering plants (I have a rooftop garden) and also some meal prep. Admin includes tasks based on the laptop, telephone and paperwork. This isn’t a companionship role, but being an artistic and practical soul I may need you to help with sewing, sorting or occasional decorating. Any personal care is non-intimate and I don’t need lifting, but sometimes plants, parcels and furniture may do!

You must maintain confidentiality, be non-judgmental, have an awareness of disability issues including positive language concerning mental health. An ability to separate personal from work-life, and not to bring personal problems into the workplace. In essence, seeing me as an autonomous person capable of making my own decisions.

I flourish in a friendly, trustworthy environment with person-centred PAs who can respect professional boundaries and follow instructions really well. My PAs are resourceful, caring, reliable, with good time keeping skills and a great sense of humour! They are willing to help solve immediate or longer term problems I may have.

My symptoms include pain and severe fatigue so you need to be good at listening and taking cues on how to complete tasks, I have cognition problems where the PA needs to show patience and good interpersonal skills, and immune problems so you need to be in good health and be very aware of covid protocols and how it can be spread within the community. It would be a distinct advantage if you are a competent driver with occasional access to a car for occasional medical appointments/local outings.

My essential requirements are:
Ensuring a Covid and flu-safe environment e.g wearing PPE, preferred vaccine, social distancing and higher hygiene standards.
Non-smoker required.
DBS, proof of right to work/passport, minimum two references. I am in receipt of Direct Payments.
My needs change daily so being resourceful and able to cope with change is vital.

You need to be able to do every shift on Tuesday and Wednesday mornings, 3hr shift starting 10am (or thereabouts).

The rate of pay is:
Employee beginning rate £9.00/hr then up to £9.50/hr, plus holidays.
Self-employed beginning rate £10.00/hr then up to £10.70/hr - must have up to date Personal Care Assistant Insurance, have proof of working in the UK and confirmation of Unique Taxpayer Reference (UTR).

If this sounds of interest, please contact me for further details.

Genders which may apply for this job – Female

Hours per week – Every Tuesday and Wednesday morning 3hr shifts starting 10am.

Hourly rate – Employee beginning/Training rate £9.00/hr then up to £9.50/hr, plus holidays. Self-employed beginning/Training rate £10.00/hr then up to £10.70/hr.

Area – Brighton Central

Driving licence required – No

Employer has pets – No

Employer is smoker – No

Noticeboard Advice

For your privacy and protection when applying for a job online:

  • Never provide credit card or bank account information, or perform any sort of monetary transaction.
  • By applying for a job using this site you are agreeing to comply with and be subject to the terms and conditions for use of this site.